Ricky Jackson! He served 39 years in prison for a murder he didn’t commit, making him the longest serving inmate in U.S. history to be exonerate! INNOCENCE PROJECT

Happy one year of freedom to Ohio Innocence Project Client Ricky Jackson! He served 39 years in prison for a murder he didn’t commit, making him the longest serving inmate in U.S. history to be exonerated.

Many were moved by Ricky’s ability to forgive the person whose false testimony landed him in prison:

“When I saw him on the witness stand, as he admitted his original testimony was a lie, I went from hating him to feeling pity for him. I could see that his lies ruined his life as much as they did mine. And I knew I had to forgive him to move forward with my own life. I didn’t want any of that negativity–that hatred–that I lived with in prison poisoning my new life. I had to forgive him to help myself. So I met him at his church, embraced him, looked him in the eye and said ‘I forgive you’. I saw his body transform, like a weight had been lifted, and it made me happy.”

Ohio Innocence Projects Foto.

Ohio Innocence Project

Ricky Jackson, 1975, 19 years old.

2 responses to “Ricky Jackson! He served 39 years in prison for a murder he didn’t commit, making him the longest serving inmate in U.S. history to be exonerate! INNOCENCE PROJECT

Leave a Reply

