A 10-Year Nightmare over Rape Conviction is over! “I stopped what I was doing and got down on my knees and prayed to God to help me play my cards right.”

 http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-rape-dismiss-20120525,0,3372200.story

Brian Banks spent years in prison, branded a rapist. Then his accuser provided the key to getting his conviction dismissed.

 
Rape conviction dismissedBrian Banks, with his attorneys, is overcome with emotion in the courtroom. When he heard from the alleged victim last year, “I stopped what I was doing and got down on my knees and prayed to God to help me play my cards right.” (Bob Chamberlin / Los Angeles Times / May 24, 2012)

 By Ashley Powers, Los Angeles Times

May 25, 2012 

Brian Banks logged onto Facebook last year, and a new friend request startled him.

It was the woman who, nearly a decade ago, accused him of rape when they were both students at Long Beach Poly High School.

Banks had served five years in prison for the alleged rape, and now he was unemployed and weary. So he replied to Wanetta Gibson with a question: Would she meet with him and a private investigator? She agreed.

At the meeting, which was secretly recorded, Gibson said she had lied. “No,” she was quoted as saying, “he did not rape me.”

That admission set off an extraordinary chain of events that culminated Thursday morning. A Los Angeles County Superior Court judge dismissed Banks’ conviction, ending 10 years of turmoil in a hearing that lasted less than a minute.

Banks, 26, bowed his head and trembled, his eyes flooding with tears. His girlfriend, Pamela Soladar, yelped with joy. They made their way to each other and embraced; Banks was too overwhelmed to speak.

“You made it,” she whispered to him.

It had been a long, maddening journey.

In the summer of 2002, Banks was considered a top college football prospect. A 6-foot-4, 225-pound middle linebacker at Long Beach Poly High, Banks said he had been courted by USC, UCLA and other football powerhouses.

He was attending summer school, and asked his teacher for permission to leave class so he could make a phone call, according to court papers. Then Banks, a senior, ran into Gibson, a sophomore….

 
Please, read the whole article there! Thank You!

Copyright © 2012, Los Angeles Times

2 responses to “A 10-Year Nightmare over Rape Conviction is over! “I stopped what I was doing and got down on my knees and prayed to God to help me play my cards right.”

  1. Pingback: THE BRIAN BANKS STORY – FROM JAIL TO FOOTBALL – HE DESERVES IT – « THE WORD WARRIOR Bonju Blog

Leave a Reply

